Penne Pasta with Butternut Ricotta Cream Sauce

Last night I was feeling like trying something new out that would use ingredients that I already had, and I also felt like inventing it myself.  No Recipe! I love doing this every once in a while, I think that making something tasty that you came up with on your own gives a greater sense of achievement. I hope that as I get more experienced in cooking and baking that I will be able to do this more and more. (Also I think experimenting helps me to get better at cooking, so I guess it goes both ways.)

I was thinking about making some sort of Ricotta Cream sauce to go on Pasta, since I had a good amount of Ricotta Cheese left over from the frosting I made a few days ago, and I also had heavy cream on hand.  Then I remembered that I had some leftover Herbed Whipped Butternut Squash from a previous dinner too.  Then I got really excited. This was gonna be good!

I started boiling water and looked at the different pastas that I had in the pantry and thought the Penne would be the best partner to my Butternut Ricotta Cream Sauce.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Cup herbed whipped butternut squash [butternut squash that has been cooked and then whipped with a stand or handheld mixer with some butter, salt, pepper, and herbs of choice (I used herbs de provence)]
  • 1 Cup whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 1/3 Cup parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 teaspoon herbs de provence
  • 1/3-1/2 Cup heavy cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

NOTE: these are approximations, I didn’t actually measure the ingredients when I made this.  Make adjustments to quantity where desired to achieve flavor and consistency that you are happy with.

Instructions:

In a small heavy sauce pot heat olive oil over medium flame and add minced garlic. Cook for a few minutes stirring occasionally and then add the butternut squash, ricotta, parmesan, and herbs de provence. Stir well to incorporate, and continue to heat over medium stirring occasionally until heated through.  Add cream a little at a time, incorporating between additions, until sauce has reached your desired consistency. (I left mine a little bit on the thick  side so that it stuck to the pasta well.) Add to about 14 ounces cooked pasta and stir to coat. Serve immediately. Makes about 3 servings if it’s the only course.  Probably about 5 servings if you are having salad and bread with it.

I was quite happy with the results.  This was fast, easy, and delicious! I will definitely have to do some more original, no recipe, creations in the near future. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

